Flagging You Down

We identify ourselves by that which hangs on a pole.

Flags. Not strippers.

These simple things that flap ferociously in the atmospheric conditions that are presented by mother earth; we associate ourselves with its identity.

Once again, flags. Not strippers.

I have seen quite a few flags, the one I do not understand is the Confederate flag.

The Confederate flag represents the Confederacy. You know, those mid-19th century democratic folks who receded from the Union in order to protect their way of life. Well, when put like that, it does not sound half bad. It even sounds patriotic until you realize they are protecting the institution of slavery.

So it befuddles me so when I see someone waving a Confederate flag. Are people aware of the contention that flag contains? It is supporting the southern antebellum lifestyle.

This makes it a little more difficult to argue against the Confederate flag.

No, no, no…Do not get overwrought when I question if you are a racist. You should firmly be aware of the adumbration the flag carries. You may be a supporter of the southern activities of today, and that is fine. You just need to find a flag that recognizes that and not that you are a racist hillbilly.

So because of the Confederate flag wavers, I have placed an order for a swastika flag.

You see how you jumped to the assumption that I was anti-Semitic? By Confederate flag logic, I am just a supporter of Germany. That would not fly with the swastika flag (pun intended) and it should not for the Confederate flag.

I would like to add to this topic that I would love to time travel to the 1860s.

You may not ask me why, but I will tell you anyway.

I would like to go back to 1862 and walk into a Confederate meeting. I would take the stand and announce to them that I was from the future. I would then state that their party, the Democrats, would elect the first “colored” president of the United States. Congratulations.

I am assuming I would have to then pull a John Wilkes Booth and hightail it out of there. Hopefully without breaking my leg, or being shot by a castrated man.

About Titillating Thoughts

I am called Kenny. I respond to it. I am twenty-three years of age. This blog will represent my unique way of looking at life. It is to be a collection of thoughts that titillate your brain flaps. I am not always politically correct, but it all comes from a comedic nature. I hope you enjoy my dry and sarcastic humor.

Posted on June 30, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. The Confederate Flag should be banned! At least in that one picture you posted up there. It makes it a better picture when you take away the flag image. Because she’d be naked, that’s why!

    Flags don’t represent anything to me. They’re symbols. Even Jesus hated symbols. And there’s nothing in the world with more symbols than Jesus. Maybe Prince.

  2. Hello there,
    I am very excited to let you know that I have nominated you for the Inspiring Blog Award. I have included a brief explanation of what makes your blog so inspirational to me here:
    http://nyparrot.wordpress.com/2012/07/02/you-think-you-know-me-but-you-dont-writing-a-blog-is-rewarding/
    Thanks for inspiring me, and may inspiration be always present in abundance in your life!

  3. 😀 i think you could have a little time-tourism racket going on there, TT: a lot of people would want to view that scene you described…

  4. So why did the Democrats and Republicans swap places?

    I am proud of the Union flag, even though the UK has done some bad things, such as, make a great deal of money out of slavery. The former Confederate states still have a group identity within the US. Perhaps the flag has an edginess, precisely because of the Civil War. Some people like it simply because you don’t!

    • One idea is that the Democrat party evolved and the Republican party did not. Others say is transitioned slowly from the 1870s to 1936 when FDR was elected. Or you can advance it to when LBJ signed the Civil Rights Act and basically handed the South over to the Republicans. Lots of ways to look at it.

      And no. Nobody can like it if I don’t. That’s a violation against commandment nineteen which states: “Everyone must agree with Kenneth’s opinion on all matters presented verbally or through the written word.”

  5. Alot of people see the Confederate flag today and immediately think “racist hillbilly”. This is due to a lack of understanding, or a degree of ignorance, if you will. Slavery was an issue from the early days of America. It is unclear exactly how long it would have taken to happen, but I am certain that slavery did not need a war to get rid of it. Most Americans agreed that slavery was wrong, but it was embedded in society at the time. The economy ran on it. Think today: we know burning fossil fuels the way we do is a terrible thing, but it is very difficult to stop. It’s a huge part of our society. We need to cover large distances in our daily routines, which requires cars. We even have a difficult time not cranking up the AC on full blast instead of running it just enough to knock the edge off.

    What I am trying to point out is that thousands of free men did not leave their homes and families to defend slavery specifically. Northern men felt they were fighting to preserve the Union and Southern men felt they were preserving the state’s right to choose, as it was in the beginning. Both sides believed they were carrying the patriotic spirit of the founding fathers. Federally sanctioned history books (as used in public schools) villifies the South and paints the North as crusading saints for mankind. I think this leads to the misunderstandings we have today.

    The flag represents the spirit of those men, and of the people, of that time. They are my people, my ancestors. We have a nearly complete family record and have yet to find a slave owner. Even if we did, I wouldn’t be bothered. Many slaves around here were earning their freedom as early as the revolutionary war, much like indentured servants who could not afford their own way. My ancestors who left home to fight did so in preservation of their homes and families. They left to prepare a defense against the threatened military invasion from the northern states. (I am in South Carolina, the same area my family has lived since SC and NC were the Carolina colony) To me, slavery doesn’t even come to mind when I see the flag. It reminds me of a time and culture that has been dying a slow death since the end of the war. It reminds me of patriotic spirit, honor, duty, loyalty to God and Country, family, strength, and reverence to all those on both sides, soldier and civilian, who suffered from the burdens that war brought, especially the calamities cause by Sherman’s march to the sea, in which many women and children were raped, murdered, starved, burned out, mutilated, and at the very least were pillaged from by the Yankee raiders. The scars from that episode still exist today.

    The flag does not represent a racist attitude and in fact has very little to do with slavery at all. It may be one of the most misunderstood flags in America today, and it has been misused and mis-represented in so many ways that it becomes hard to understand exactly what it really stands for. For this reason, I do not display the battle jack flag (the commonly reproduced design, like from Dukes of Hazard). I instead display the Stars and Bars, or Bonnie Blue. Only people who really understand what the flag is and have a firm understanding of the history behind it will recognize these designs. There is no promotion of slavery or racist hillbilly redneck behind it. Its our American heritage.

    I hope this helps you have a better understanding of the Confederate Flag, and I hope that when you see a group of people misusing it (like neo nazis, kkk meetings, or even a herd of drunk revelers at a NASCAR event) that you will recognize that they are the ones who really don’t understand what the flag means. Great Blog, and thanks for your time 🙂

Leave a Reply

