Musical Madness

Why Hello, Dolly.

This is Kenneth, Dolly.

It’s so nice to have you back to my ‘ole blog!

You’re looking swell Dolly, I can tell Dolly.

You’re still reading, you’re still needing…you’re still here.

There is a certain magic behind musicals. It captivates me so; distributing euphoric vessels throughout my being. The cavorting and singing that occur during these cinematic adventures is miraculous. And to think there was a time when I dreaded spending a night on Broadway.

I was fourteen. It was my first time to New York, and I was on a time budget. My family had all concurred that we would attend a show on Broadway. I was less than pleased with the option. To heighten my angst, it was a play I had never heard of.  It is not that I did not care for plays, but I wanted to make better use of the night, than spending it in a theater. To no avail, I dressed in my Sunday’s-Best and went to attend a play. It was called Cabaret. I reached the theater and slumped into my seat. I mumbled adjectives, verbs, and nouns under my breath. All of it branching from profanity. The lights dimmed, the drum roll began, and a voice said, “Welcome to Cabaret!”. . .

When the lights rose, I was no longer in a slump. I was on my feet, proceeding to offer a standing ovation to the cast and crew of the production. I was mesmerized by the entire performance. The night was no longer considered a waste, but my favorite night in New York. It was this play that truly sparked my interest for musicals. As we drove back to our hotel for the night, I could not stop singing the songs. I would say I had a song stuck in my head, but that would imply that I did not want them there. That was not the case.

So yes, I watch musicals. What of it? I like wit, and many of them express that in their lyrics. I have since watched several musicals in theaters and on film. Here are some of my favorite (no particular order):

Cabaret (theatre) –  Sexy girls prancing around on stage in corsets. Nazi Germany storyline. Need I explain more? I will one day try out for the role of the emcee. I have no intention of actually landing the spot, but I would like to attempt it.

Phantom of the Opera (2004 film)  – There are those who hate on the new version. Not I. This was my introduction to the classic. A month or two ago I was watching it again and that is when I recognized the actor. Gerald Butler was the Phantom. It blew my mind! He does all of the singing too; which is quite impressive. It also stars Emmy Rossum, who is now on Shameless and is shamelessly hot.

Reefer Madness (2005 film) – If you love this blog, you will love this movie. It is definitely my type of humor. If you decide to watch this film, do so with another individual. Some of you may even want to add a touch of influence. I hereby do not ENDOrse that substance, but it is a choice that you must choose.

Camelot (1967 film) – I can understand why someone may not like this film. It is almost three hours long and has a distinct 60s feel to it. I was introduced to it by my mother when I was growing up. She used to watch it every year and so it grew on me. Great music and cast.  You may recognize the main character, Arthur, as Professor Albus Dumbledore in the first two Harry Potter films.

Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975 film, theatre) – If you have never dressed up like Frank-N-Furter and attended a play, you are missing out. (I’ve never done so either, but you would be surprised at how many do.) This is a weird cult musical. It is quite edgy for its era, but amazingly funny and catchy. So please, go do the Time Warp. It’s just a jump to the left…

Across the Universe (2007 film) – The Beatles, in a musical format. I like some of the musicals versions better than the originals. This movie takes me to a certain time, place, and individual. It  has no ties to her, but I purchased it during that era. Anyhow, a great film so check it out. Just tune in, turn on, drop out, drop in, switch off, switch on, and explode!

Take Me Out to the Ball Game (1949 film) – A baseball film starring Frank Sinatra and Gene Kelly. I just like the storyline and easy vibe that is throughout the feature. A good representation of that 1940s-1950s musical lifestyle.

Other mentionable honors:

The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas – Who doesn’t like a little whore action?

White Christmas – Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye…Sisters.

Rent – Different, but unique and worth watching.

Bat Boy – I thought it was about baseball. I was pleasantly wrong.

Little Shop of Horrors – FEEEED ME!

The Producers – Mel Brooks. Genius.

Jesus Christ Superstar – Jesus as a rocker? I can dig it.

Grease – It’s the word.

Singing in the Rain – Great film.

And last but not least…

 Disney films (Aladdin, Lion King, Hercules, etc…)

I know there are still dozens of classic musicals that I have yet to watch, but I’ll get to them. Perhaps you could assist me. What are some of your favorite musicals and why?

About Titillating Thoughts

I am called Kenny. I respond to it. I am twenty-three years of age. This blog will represent my unique way of looking at life. It is to be a collection of thoughts that titillate your brain flaps. I am not always politically correct, but it all comes from a comedic nature. I hope you enjoy my dry and sarcastic humor.

Posted on April 30, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I actually just finished watching Wizard of Oz. Another great one is Yankee Doodle Dandy, with James Cagney.

  2. Have you ever seen Repo! The Genetic Opera? It’s disturbingly intriguing almost in the same way that Rocky Horror Picture show is amazing. It’s nowhere near as good, but it’s worth checking out.

    My personal favorite musical is Grease. This is mostly due to my aunt, who allowed me to watch it 40 times a day, every day. I never tire of it, and I know every single song and every single spoken line.

  3. I’ve never been to New York. Sad, I know.

    I have been to a few musicals, and seen a number of musical movies. I’m unite fond of Guys and Dolls.

  4. I own the soundtrack to Bat Boy: The Musical. I would listen to it over and over again as background noise when I first moved into my apartment. You know he helped to hunt down most of the Taliban right?

  5. I love all of these (even the ones I haven’t seen yet, but it’s only a matter of time, ha!).

Leave a Reply

