My WordPress World

I feel like little orphan Annie in this WordPress world. It’s a hard-knock life for me. I can deduce from experience that if I do not post content for one day that I will only receive ten profile views or under. I can improve my views a little by branching out and commenting on other blogs, but the numbers are exiguous. It is as if the WordPress Doctor was right: a post a day keeps people frequenting your blog with likes and comments so that you are not left with no notifications in the end. I hear this exact quote at least once a day. Damn it for being so catchy and true.

Another thing I have to watch out for is posting something that is too long. Not everyone wants to read a novel. (Lets be honest, if I were to delegate that much time to reading a book, it would be by a published author.) The longer my post is, the less feedback I receive. I don’t blame them. Given the amount of blogs I subscribe to, if they were all around 1,500 words a piece, that means I would have to read, well, 3,000 words. Ha. If only it were three thousand words, but unfortunately it is not. The perfect blog size is anywhere between 300-600 words. It keeps the topic short and easy. Though I am sure I have readers who fancy it long and hard, this is not the way to the promise land. Ladies, and perhaps gentlemen (not judging) let me remind you that BLOGS are better short, consistent, and sweet.

So from now on, I am going to try and post at least once a day, maybe eight if I have the stamina. My posts will fall between 300-600 words. Don’t worry, you only need 300-600 words with me, ‘cause I’m so intense. My expressed ideas will cover a plethora of topics and positions I am sure you will find arousing. So there you have it. Those are my newly released conditions. I am hoping if I follow this agenda, the sun will come out tomorrow. I am even willing to bet my bottom dollar.

Daily Post. 300-600 words. Titillating thoughts.

Interested?

About Titillating Thoughts

I am called Kenny. I respond to it. I am twenty-three years of age. This blog will represent my unique way of looking at life. It is to be a collection of thoughts that titillate your brain flaps. I am not always politically correct, but it all comes from a comedic nature. I hope you enjoy my dry and sarcastic humor.

Posted on April 7, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I often wondered why one day I would get about 100 views, then the next day I don’t post anything and maximum I get is 10 or so. I’ve written some decently long posts and receive very little feedback. Posting once day and keeping it at about 500 words really does wonders! I’ve read a few of your other posts and you’re an excellent writer. Keep it up bro and I’ll be sure to return!

    • Yeah, there seem to be unwritten rules in WordPress. I am still trying to figure them all out. lol

      Thanks for dropping in and taking the time to read some of my blogs.

  2. Tomorrow! Tomorrow! I luv ya! Tomorrow! You’re always a day awaaaay!
    Sorry, that song’s in my head now. Great post! I think you hit the nail on the head with your assessment of WordPress; blogs need to be not too long, not too short, but juuuust right! …and now I’ve somehow deviated from Annie to Goldilocks… 😛

  3. I decided, back before the start of the New Year, to post at least one a day, for the entire year. Since then I have averaged about 150 views a day, but not that many likes, comments or new subscribers. I make sure to put all of mine on Reddit and StumbleUpon. I know it’s kind of cheating, but I need to for the purposes of my blog.

    • Hey, whatever you can do to get people to view your blog. How much traffic do you think you pull in from Reddit and StumbleUpon?

      • It varies from day to day. I usually try to tag the subject the best I can, so if it’s not funny or humorous I don’t tag it that way, but those get the most hits. (Yours would be tagged this way) Today I have 233 views, and a little over 100 are from StumbleUpon. It brings in the most. I have almost 18,000 total view so far, 5,500 are from StumbleUpon, 3,900 are from Reddit, and about 900 from Facebook, those are the three biggest for me. After awhile a lot will come in through Google searches, but that take some time. To get view from other WordPress bloggers I think it’s best to try to be able to tag a number of different things. The most used tag on the site is NEWS. With me, I’m trying to get a certain message across, but I can still do that any number of ways. I’ve left myself open to talk about any number of things, and can still bring it around at the end. Oh, and following and commenting on other blogs helps too. You might not see it right away, but it makes a difference, kinda like the Google thing.

        This is just stuff that works for me, I’m no professional. I hope it helps. Let me know if you have any questions.

      • Thanks. Yes, I try to comment and like other blogs. Not only have I seen that helps, but it also gives me something to read as well. I’ll have to look into connecting myself to StumbleUpon and Reddit. That is a fair amount of views. On days that I post I usually receive around 40-50 views. I just have to keep on keeping on.

Leave a Reply

