A Watcher of the People

Like a bird watcher, whale watcher, and even a weight watcher, I am a watcher too. I like to watch people. We are fascinating creatures who are capable of performing the most idiotic actions. Just look at Youtube. And those are only the people who wanted their asinine vivacity captured on video. There are countless undocumented cases of people being, well, people.

Being the observant person that I am, or can be, I notice some of the idiosyncratic things that people do. The ones I notice are not always like the physical activities displayed on Youtube. It is often what people say, or how they present themselves. For example, I had a situation at work where a lady had purchased a rain coat. It was a simplistic non-expensive rain coat. She asked me to put it in a bag. Her reason (I didn’t ask, she just told me): because she did not want it to get wet. She was serious. I pointed out the flaws in her logic; she laughed and acknowledged that I was correct in my assessment, but still she wanted a bag.

I recently had another similar situation, this one involving a company. A woman was paying for her items. She was a woman of normal stature and atop her head was a hat that read “Bed Head.” I am aware that Bed Head is a hair care product, so it struck me as odd that they would create a promotional hat. What sense does it make for a hair product company to make a hat that will hide their product? That is like a clothing company supporting a nudist movement. I tried to explain this to the woman, but she did not grasp the idea. Figures; the hair I was able to see was blonde.

I notice these inconsistencies that loom about. I take great satisfaction in observing and confronting the views. When addressing these issues, a debate is likely to proceed.

A close friend of mine called to talk on the phone earlier today (We talked about bowling, rent, and laundry. This is not important to the story, but is an added bonus. A fun fact.) A subject came up that I was able to debate. She was not in the mood for my tom-foolery, and shut me down.

In that moment, it became clear that I like debating. Any debate will do. It can be about the most infinitesimal topic and I will still attempt it. There is almost a natural high I receive from the process. It made me pause and consider that maybe the raincoat lady and the Bed Head hat were not strange happenstances.

Perhaps I just want to fight. Allow me to pick a fight in the box and ask it to step outside.

About Titillating Thoughts

I am called Kenny. I respond to it. I am twenty-three years of age. This blog will represent my unique way of looking at life. It is to be a collection of thoughts that titillate your brain flaps. I am not always politically correct, but it all comes from a comedic nature. I hope you enjoy my dry and sarcastic humor.

Posted on April 6, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I can understand this fully. I like to consider myself a knowledgeable person. It’s nice to show off this knowledge every once in a while, and what better way than while proving someone wrong? It’s not necessary, but boy does it feel good. Nice observances.

  2. Observing people and their actions are one of the most fascinating things to do. I think that people and companies often do things that do not make sense because of several reasons for example conditioning. If someone was brought up in an array of experiences they will often repeat the mundane or ridiculous task or action even if it does not make any sense realistically. The way people make meaning of actions, experiences, and everything for that matter is very interesting and at times so different from the way we experience our individual world. It really comes down to how we make arrangements with ourselves and how it differs between one and another.

    • You are right. I hashed this out with a friend and I came to conclusion that I may give the majority of people too much credit. Yes, I believe they should notice these things, but many of them have been conditioned to act a certain way.

      It would have been awesome if the lady wearing the “Bed Head” hat was doing it ironically.

  3. I would have loved to see the faces of the people in question in the Bed Head hat and Rain Mac events.

Leave a Reply

