Beard or No Beard?

I have been having a debate amongst myself as of late. The question: Beard or No Beard? Let me begin with how this question came to be.

It started last November. It was the wonderful “No-Shave November” and I was going to try my hand at growing a beard. I had previously never attempted such a feat, but I wanted to see if I had the right hair follicles to produce decent face of hair (Plus, I was trying to impress a lady-friend whom liked beards). The month passed and I witnessed myself slowly grow a beard. It was an amazing transformation. It was my first beard. Here is a picture from its longest length (I let the hair grow out too.)

I understand it was not the quintessential beard, but it was my beard. I refer to it as a full neck beard. Watch out Amish Community; prepare to have your ladies swoon and your men want to be me. I would have been the talk of the town, but alas in urban outlets the beard was a little much. Also, graduation was upon me and I had to clean up.

May I just take a moment to mention one thing? Of course I can, it’s my blog.

There is one thing I would like to mention about beards, for anyone who may want to attempt this beard growing feat in the future. I had the misfortune of nobody warning me, so I am making it my mission, here and now, to tell those who have not yet embarked on a beard adventure: You will be in a state of distress when you initially trim or shave off your beard. It is a saddening experience that nobody prepares you for. It makes you feel like Samson. No beard; no strength. It is a detrimental occurrence, but do not fret, you will rise above the sorrow. You will witness greater days. You will overcome. You will grow another beard.

So once I came to the realization that my beard was shabby-dabby-doo, I visited my local barber shop and received a haircut and a beard trim. I did not like the outcome. The beard added age, whilst thou trim taketh away. I looked young, pale, and thin. That was my opinion. As my family and friends saw it, they voiced a positive opinion on my new look (My lady-friend said there was no such thing as too big of a beard, but even she admitted that the post-look was cuter). As time passed, I too agreed with them.

Now I have let my beard grow out a bit, but never to the length in the photo above. I have had it for about 6 months now. I have thoroughly enjoyed this very different look, but lately I have been battling with the idea of going clean shaven again. Here is a sampling of clean and bearded:

What do you guys think? Beard or no beard?

About Titillating Thoughts

I am called Kenny. I respond to it. I am twenty-three years of age. This blog will represent my unique way of looking at life. It is to be a collection of thoughts that titillate your brain flaps. I am not always politically correct, but it all comes from a comedic nature. I hope you enjoy my dry and sarcastic humor.

Posted on April 2, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Beard. The trimmed version in the last photo fits the angles of your face.

  2. The beard lends you credibility.
    For even more facial hair advice, go to my blog and see the series of posts called, ‘If you want to be a dictator’.

  3. Yup, the last pic suits you best. But I always think men look better with a little facial hair, even if it’s just stubble, vs clean-shaven, so I’m a little biased 😛

  4. I would have to agree with your “lady friend”… Beard 😉

  5. Definitely – Beard!

  6. LOL. There were only two photos of you we’ve been offered… – I went for the one on the right;)

Leave a Reply

