Women Are More Successful at Social Networking

I have tried to participate in a multitude of social networks. I have a Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Myspace, and WordPress. The one constant variable that is expressed through each is that women are powerful networkers. I almost want to arrange an experiment in which I find one individual of each sex and have them create a social network account simultaneously. I would like to track the progression of both accounts for duration of one month. I can almost say with complete certainty that the woman would have far more followers and interaction on her account than would said man. That points me to believe that women are better at networking.

Of course, there is another side to that. Men will follow anything that they find sexually appealing to the eye. Yes, even if the image is cropped in a fashion where ONLY your face is visible. Hell, perhaps only if her eyes were. As a guy, I know this has truth. It may not be true for all or most, but there is a large portion of men that would follow a woman simply because of her profile picture. Unfortunately, it does not seem as if the reverse is true. Women do not appear to follow men based on physical appearance. For women to follow others, the content has to be worthwhile. Or maybe that is just my experience…I suppose my experience does not withstand well though due to my lack of a great physical appearance.

Maybe I should rephrase this and say that attractive people have more followers. On a social network, where content is the majority of what people read or watch, those damned symmetrical-faced people still hold the power. Nah, I will stick with my original flawed theory and call it a day. Day.

About Titillating Thoughts

I am called Kenny. I respond to it. I am twenty-three years of age. This blog will represent my unique way of looking at life. It is to be a collection of thoughts that titillate your brain flaps. I am not always politically correct, but it all comes from a comedic nature. I hope you enjoy my dry and sarcastic humor.

Posted on March 29, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You may be right. Although another possibility is that it’s the self-confidant people who are better at social networking, and it’s usually the attractive people who fall into that category. They want to be seen and so put themselves out there a lot more than those who are less attractive (or even just those who don’t see themselves as attractive, whether they are or not). But that’s just my theory; I’m not disagreeing with you or anything 🙂

  2. Ha true, but I think a different level of self-confidence is on display when producing words and not pictures. For instance, many people on here may be a lot more confident in their ability to express their ideas through the written (typed) word, but those same people may not display that same level of confidence at their local pool party. Nonetheless, you are probably right to a certain extent. But then there is the role of cleavage…And cleavage can be very seductive in the social networking sphere…Or any sphere for that matter. lol

Leave a Reply

